Welcome to Open-Systems Group

We are a group of consultants where our areas of speciality include providing services to many different sites and companies. We provide consulting services for business who wish to run open-source programs and services. At this time, we can provide consultation for:

Read the rest of this entry »

Getting outlook connector to work on JES

I’m trying to play with the latest JES/Outlook connector combo. It seems to have come a long way since the last time I tried it, but I’m still having some problems. When I start Outlook, it prompts me to log into the addressbook. I enter the correct password, but it just reprompts me until I eventually just hit cancel. Here is the solution:

Read the rest of this entry »

Thoughts on my new Acer Ferrai 4005 WLMi

I’ve had the Acer Ferrari 4005 WMLi for about 3 days now and I don’t like it! Read on more on why I think this may not be the best laptops in the market

Read the rest of this entry »

Solaris shell profiles (bashrc, cshrc, tcshrc)

Here are some profiles (tcshrc/cshrc/bashrc) found on my systems. Source of some of these are comp.unix.solaris,dotfiles.com etc.

Read the rest of this entry »

Replacing syslog on Solaris 10 with syslog-ng

I have never really liked the syslogd shipped by Sun for Solaris. Syslog-ng offeres a lot more features and performs much better IMHO.. So I ended up replacing my syslogd to syslog-ng. Read on more on how to do so:

Read the rest of this entry »

Solaris – Extending 8 char limit on password

Every user on a UNIX® system has a password associated with their account. It seems obvious that these passwords need to be known only to the user and the actual operating system. In order to keep these passwords secret, they are encrypted with what is known as a “one-way hash”, that is, they can only be easily encrypted but not decrypted. In other words, the operating system itself does not really know the password. It only knows the encrypted form of the password. The only way to get the “plain-text” password is by a brute force search of the space of possible passwords.

Read the rest of this entry »

Linksys WRT54G IPv6 Howto

Note: This requires you to flash your firmware to an unofficial firmware which voids your warranty. You’re on your own. But don’t worry, if you flash your router properly, everything should go ok.

What’s needed:

Firmware – You must have the sveasoft firmware installed on your router. I’m currently using WRT54G_Wolf_W42_Alchemy_6rc1 which can be found at
http://wrt54g.thermoman.de/ or here’s the ed2k link:
http://tinyurl.com/5vxkh

Read the rest of this entry »